Bruckner, Symphony No. 5 in B flat major

From the Berlin Philharmonie

09.03.2018 | 22:55

The performance of all six of Anton Bruckner's mature symphonies on six nearly consecutive evenings is an accomplishment that can truly be called "superhuman" (Der Tagesspiegel). Daniel Barenboim - conductor, pianist, all round musical genius - set himself this task in June 2010 with the Staatskapelle Berlin at the Berlin Philharmonie. What Barenboim and his orchestra - he has been its principal conductor since 1992 - achieve in this marathon is a new view of the Bruckner opus that opts for grandeur and the mighty theatrical gesture. Bruckner's symphonies as "operas without words" (Der Tagesspiegel).

Daniel Barenboim
Staatskapelle Berlin
Video Director:
Tilo Krause
Country, year of production:
D, 2010
Back to overview: